Skip to main content

Volunteer Opportunity Statuses

Understand how and when to use the different status options for Opportunities.

Written by Autum Martin

❖ Heads up! This article is intended for Site Managers only.

By the end of this article, you will be able to:

  • Understand the differences between each status

  • Know when to use each status

  • Understand the impact of using each status, including data implications

Volunteer Opportunity Statuses

Volunteer Opportunity Statuses determine how volunteers view an Opportunity and how data resulting from the Opportunity (responses and hours submitted to the Opportunity) is tracked and stored.

Status Descriptions

Status

When to use

Impact

Active

The opportunity is ready to receive responses and hours from volunteers.

Volunteers who can access this opportunity can respond and submit hours. All responses and hours data are saved in volunteers' profiles and site reports.

Pending

The opportunity is not ready for any volunteers.

The opportunity is hidden. All responses and hours data are unaffected.

Archive

The opportunity was completed and is no longer accepting new volunteer responses.

All responses and hours data are saved in volunteers' profiles and site reports.

Cancel

The opportunity was going to happen, but it was called off (inclement weather, unavailable volunteer coordinator, etc).

All responses (including from past shifts) are set to Canceled and can be seen in the Canceled Responses tab in the Responses page.

All hours (including from past shifts) are deactivated.

The volunteer opportunity is permanently canceled. It can be changed to the Deleted status, but it cannot be restored to Active, Pending, or Archive.

Delete

The opportunity was created by mistake.

All responses and hours data are permanently deleted from volunteers' profiles and site reports.

Did this answer your question?